Dan Dos Santos: Amazing

I thought I’d highlight one of my favorite artists today. Okay, scratch that, this guy is my favorite artist. I’m a big fan of odd, almost abstract styles of art. Styles that really come across to you on a level where it’s like “Wow, that artist is so original and interesting.” Now that’s cool and all. That’s what I like. That’s why it’s all the more pertinent a point that Dos Santos is by far my favorite artist.

Why? Well he doesn’t create art using some crazy, unique style. He doesn’t need to—at all. That’s how talented this guy is. There’s nothing wrong with having an original style, but in Dan’s case, his “original style” is just incredible skill. He does make excellent use of color, and the luminance of his work is breathtaking, but besides that, it’s no frills art. It’s powerful, vibrant, realistic, and surreal all at the same time. He’s illustrated loads of book covers, and even done art for Magic The Gathering cards.

His art speaks for itself, and the fantastical element to the subject matter makes each piece all the more incredible to see. I admit it, 10 years down the road I would kill to have a book published with his art on the front cover, but one step at a time, right?

But don’t take my word for it; check out his work for yourself! You won’t be disappointed, I guarantee that.

http://www.dandossantos.com/gallery.htm

About HT Sundance

I'm 20 years old and I'm a writing student living in Hawaii. Writing is my passion, and I'm striving to break into the market doing something I really love.

Posted on January 1, 2012, in Flimflam, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

State your mind!

